Skip to content

Signs, signs, everywhere are signs… do this, don’t do that, can’t you read the sign!

March 3, 2008

I (N.) think that recycling is one of the easiest things we can all do to help the environment and while I realize that using less is a better solution we all need to do what we can.

What I was never quite sure about is all the rules to recycling. What can and can’t be recyled, how to prep it for recycling, etc etc and I didn’t want my efforts to be thrown in a landfill because I didn’t do it properly. Thankfully the Closet Environmentalist has come to my rescue and offered up the dos and don’ts of recycling. Please check it out!

 give me fish

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2008 10:05 pm

    Hear hear. I used to be quite proud that we filled our recycling bin – cans, bottles, paper, etc. But then I realized that it was still a waste. The energy it took to make the recycled items, and the energy to take them to a sorting facility, and the energy to make them into something new. And all that is only the ideal situation. Many recycled items actually are not recycled because they did not make financial sense to recyclers. And some recycling items get hauled all the way across oceans to be processed. So Reduce, Reuse, Recycle are in the right order.

  2. becky permalink
    March 4, 2008 4:41 am

    i would like to point out that my simple GT Jane shoes are not only made from recycled products, but also come in a box made from 100% post consumer recycled materials….and you have yet to blog about them which J. promised to do. my feeligns are rather hurt at this point and time.

  3. March 4, 2008 5:44 am

    Hi N&J. The soap looks really good! Well done. What will you try next?

  4. March 4, 2008 10:05 pm

    We recycle so much we canceled our trash! But I do try to be conscious that if I am going to spend my money I want to make sure the “leftovers” get recycled.

  5. March 6, 2008 1:40 am

    Thanks for linking to the recycling dos and don’ts. I am very pleased to have put out my recycling this week and I tied it up with yarn, so the package would decompose even if no one picked it up. I’m still working on reducing trash although there isn’t enough this week to put a bag out.

Leave a Reply

