Skip to content

Soup Bread

February 27, 2008

CIMG1322

No, we haven’t found a way to tun soup into a bread, but I really do like the idea of chicken noodle soup in a toaster oven:)

It is the name that N. came up with for this great, hearty bread that we made yesterday, since it goes so well with soup.

The recipe comes from the King Arthur Flour Whole Grain Baking Cookbook, and is titled The Easiest 100% Whole Wheat Bread.  It really didn’t take long, and if you’re looking for something fun, healthy and different, I think you’ll like this.

I’m usually pretty skeptical of anything that’s called “the easiest” anything.  When a bread recipe calls for molasses (the smell of which I actually loath on its own) and orange juice (which just seemed silly), I immediately had my doubts.  But I thought to myself while reading the recipe, perhaps these ingredients are commonplace for the Whole Wheat Bread school, and in the spirit of a brave new kitchen I just in with both feet.  After all, I did regularly jump out of airplanes once upon a time…

The Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups (10 ounces) lukewarm water
1/4 cups (2 ounces) orange juice
3 tablespoons (2 1/4 ounces) molasses
3 cups (12 ounces) traditional whole wheat flour
1/4 cup (1 ounce) nonfat dry milk
1 1/4 teaspoones salt
2 teaspoons yeast

How I varied it:
I threw in a handful of rolled whole wheat; it really did give it a great Earthy quality.  
Since we don’t keep dry milk in the house, nor could justify buying X-amount entirely for this recipe, I just used regular milk. 

Mix it all together in a large bowl (I love a recipe where you just toss it all in a bowl:) You really don’t need your standing mixer for this (I just used a wooden spoon).  Spoon it into a greased loaf pan.  Let it sit for at least an hour.  If you’ve made a loaf of traditional bread, you’ll notice that this dough is more like batter (especially if you use regular milk like we did vs. dry milk).

When it’s rising, you’ll also notice that it doesn’t rise like a normal bread dough.  It doesn’t puff up in the middle, and it doesn’t really rise all that much.  Again, the skeptic in me returned, and I referred to the book (books are always right, right?).

Apparently, this is what this bread does.  Good, the confident non-skeptical cook in me tells myself.

Heat your oven to 350 degrees F., and bake for about 45 minutes total.  After about 20 minutes, tent the loaf with tinfoil (I use the same piece over and over) and continue to bake.  

At the last few minutes, check the center of the loaf with a thermometer; it should read 190 degrees F.  

Enjoy and let us know how it turns out!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 27, 2008 5:25 pm

    I’ve been having one hell of a time lately trying to make my own bread. The recipe that you show here looks like one that I saw on Breadtopia last week. I really wanted to try it, but didn’t have several of the ingredients (orange juice!?). I may have to give it a shot, but will probably substitute honey for molasses and omit the OJ, since that’s not something I’d be willing to keep on hand simply for bread making.

Leave a Reply

