Skip to content

The good, the bad, and the ugly?

February 23, 2008

CIMG1293Taking a page from the Treehugging Family I (N.) decided to do a little cleaning product audit. Above is all the (mostly) biodegradable, not tested on animal products we have already switched to. I won’t say non-toxic because you still aren’t supposed to swallow or get any of them in your eyes. Below are all the traditional products that we still have around. CIMG1292You will probably notice that we have some duplicate products. It’s not because we switched to green products before using the traditional ones it’s that we combined households and ended up with duplicates. We are going to use up what we can before we move and then freecycle the rest. I feel very strongly that we need to use what we have or properly dispose of it before switching to a new product but I don’t intend to bring all these chemicals across the country with me in a move.I’ve already blogged about how much we love the Seventh Generation dishwasher detergent although I found out it is not biodegradable so once we’ve used it up I’m going to look for a greener alternative. In the future we plan on blogging about each of our greener alternatives. Over all I think we are doing better, we have already started switching to safer alternatives and plan on switching the rest in the future. I haven’t had any problems with the greener alternatives and I appreciate that they don’t have the strong smell that a lot of traditional cleaners have.  How many traditional products are still in your house? How many “green”?  

One Comment leave one →
  1. sharon permalink
    February 24, 2008 5:49 am

    I am in the process of switching out for ALL my chemicals being safter, more economical (price, toxicity, biodegradable). Almost EVERYTHING they sell is biodegradeable, even the wrappers for the cough drops are biodegradeable too. If you would like to hear about the products I am using to make my home and the earth a safer place just go to http://www.livetotalwellness.com/here4myfamily

    That is where I got started. These products are less toxic thankfully. You aren’t supposed to swallow them either but at least you don’t have to go to the ER if your child swallows some dishwasher detergent, or floor cleaner. They just need lots of water and might get a tummy ache.

    I have found that they work BETTER than the cleaning items at the store, and that also with the foods that you buy at the store that are supposed to make you feel fuller don’t even work half as well as the foods that this company makes!!

Leave a Reply

