Skip to content

I do not live a sustainable life…

February 21, 2008

So I took this quiz and realized that while I’m doing twice as well as the average American it would still take 2.6 planets to sustain my current lifestyle. How many planets did it say you would need? 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2008 9:03 am

    Took the quiz and 2.3 planets for myself. Doing what I can. I think I took this quiz a couple of years ago and ended up with something like 14 so I have had an improvement.

  2. February 21, 2008 10:11 pm

    Wow, this is amazing. I thought I was doing so well, and it would still take 2.7 earths to support my lifestyle. I am not sure how the scoring works. I guess the fact that I living an average American life (even with conservation effort) gets me a higher score. My sister and brother in law’s family lives an incredibly lavish and wasteful lifestyle. I bet it would take 100 earths to support every one of them.

  3. February 22, 2008 3:44 am

    all of you are way better than me. I honestly don’t get it – I live in a 625 sq foot condo,
    don’t heat my place (not being conscientious – I live in Vancouver and the place rarely needs
    heating), and I walk to work! Meat: 3 or 4 times week, single portions. How can I
    possibly be using the equivalent of 6 earths? I’m perplexed and unnerved.

  4. sharon permalink
    February 24, 2008 5:37 am

    I’ve never seen this before, but I took the quiz and it says that it would take 1.6 earths for Everyone to live my lifestyle.

  5. zytka permalink
    March 17, 2008 8:25 pm

    I’m not sure how much I trust that quiz. I got a higher rating that I’d like, but then I retook it. Some facts I left as is–saying still that I live in the same US city and have a small apartment, but I also said that I have a green residence, that I walk everywhere, that I eat everything from local source, that I never drive, never fly and produce almost no trash–I pretty much answered it as if I were the perfect example of green living (which, of course, I’m not). It still said that it would take 1.6 planets to sustain my lifestyle. Maybe if you say you’re from another country or a smaller city, it would give you a better rating?

Leave a Reply

