Skip to content

Shaving “Pyscho” Style

February 16, 2008
old school razors, originally uploaded by nickatnight.
 
I don’t know what everyone else is going with their tax returns but J. and I decided to save most of it and use the rest to improve our lifestyle and how it affects the earth. Our first step was to purchase new non-plastic razors and we even managed to survive our first shaves.
 
I (N.) purchased a “vintage style” safety razor and a pack of ten stainless steel double edged blades to start. Apparently I can buy them in bulk on Ebay. I was incredibly leery of using this razor since I’ve been known to nick myself with a regular plastic multi-blade razor. I didn’t make quite the bloody mess that I was expecting (I had a first aid kit handy) but I did manage to nick myself five times, one of which did require a bandaid. I researched tips and tricks beforehand so I made sure to use short LIGHT strokes, being extra extra careful around the knees etc. Overall, the shave was smoother then I am used to and my legs feel nice. I’m certain that with practice I will have a blood free shave. In the meantime we are keeping the first aid kit handy :). 

 

A straight razor is not something for use by the faint of heart. I’m not going to give any advice on the actual use of a straight razor, as I don’t feel competent enough in that regard. I would seriously recommend some professional guidance (i.e. a master barber), and have that professional show you how to use it correctly.
Now, having said that, I would recommend using a straight razor as it is the closest shave I’ve had. It’s not easy or even terribly comfortable at first, but it is very smooth. And, if you only purchased one razor every five to seven years, I’d say that its really an economical choice, not to mention a lost art.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2008 2:48 am

    A straight razor certainly does give an impressive shave but I don’t have the skill to use one myself 🙂

    Love the idea about the use of the tax return – and l love the blog too 🙂

  2. February 16, 2008 9:52 am

    Good for you! I love my safety razor now that I’m used to it. It’s just so much heavier than the plastic Venus razor I had been using that it took some time to grow on me.

    Do try to find the razor blades from the guy on eBay. Feel free to email me if you can’t find them. His come from Israel but they are sold in a cardboard box of 100, so they will last a very long time. And these blades don’t rust in the shower at all.

    Beth

  3. February 18, 2008 3:01 pm

    The straight razor makes me quite queasy. Good luck ;-D

Leave a Reply

