Skip to content

I can’t believe its BUTTER!!!

February 11, 2008

People of Earth…today, I (J.) have made butter for N. and me! I am uber-cheap when it comes to purchasing butter. Why? Well, I use a lot of it and don’t like to pay money for…anything…especially not things I use a lot of. After scowering the ‘net for a good five minutes, I settled on just about the most simple and straight-forward recipe I could find. And it had pictures:)

To view, please go to:http://www.passionatehomemaking.com/?s=butterand scoll down until you get to the butter making post.

How do you make butter? Well, you get up at 4:00a.m., grab your pail and stool, and milk your cow. OK, so I don’t have a cow. In fact, I didn’t use un-pasteurized heavy cream as Lindsay specified at PassionateHomemaking.com. I just used Horizon Organic Heavy whipping cream, our Kitchenaid and some salt.So, I am an admitted/ self-proclaimed skeptic. When N. and I started this life revision, I was of the opinion that all things homemade were, for lack of a better term, not as good, and perhaps not as good for you. I’m a fairly simple person, and try to formulate my decisions and opinions based off of what I know can prove.

Below is a list of ingredients in our last 1/4 pound of Land O’ Lakes Light Butter:Water*Food-starch-modified*Contains less than 2% of tapioca malto-dextrin*SaltVegetable mono and diglycerides*Lactic Acid*Potassium sorbate* (preservative)Sodium Benzoate* (preservative)Xanthan gum*Natural Flavor*Vitamin A palmitate*Beta Carotene* (Color)* Ingredients not found in regular butter. Now, I still don’t know what Xanthan gum is, and I’m not sure why our store-bought butter needs two forms of preservative, but that’s what they have.

Below are the ingredients in the butter that we’ve just made:Organic Grade A Cream (Milk)Carrageenan and Sodium citrateSaltI truly can’t tell you what carageenan and sodium citrate are, but I hope you can agree with me when I say that, in this case, less is more.2259640396_a9870b4a8c_m.jpg 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2008 6:42 am

    Loved reading about you making butter. I bought an old glass jar butter churn off of eBay a couple years ago, which has the wooden paddle inside that you turn to make butter. Its a hoot. If you are able once home, check with freecycle.org for your area or localharvest.org and see who has a milk cow that you can barter or pay for milk from. Then let set in the refrigerator until cold then remove the cream and put in a jar and let set in the refrigerator a day or two so it can settle or thicken. Then use this to make butter. Heck a person can use a Mason jar and simply shake hard for ten minutes and get a decent butter curd. But save the whey because this is great when making soups or bread etc. ~Beth in the Sierras of California

  2. "the Mom" permalink
    February 17, 2008 12:07 am

    So, how did the biscuits taste with the “whey” you skimmed off the top?? I’m intrigued with your fearless approach to cooking. Way to go!!

  3. April 22, 2009 1:05 am

    I read your blog for a long time and must tell that your posts always prove to be of a high value and quality for readers.

Leave a Reply

