Skip to content

Homemade Toothpaste- Salty??

July 4, 2009

It took a while, but we’ve finally finished the last of our commercial toothpaste. We’ve now begun our little experiment with homemade toothpaste.

To begin with, yes… homemade toothpaste works quite well. It cleans teeth well, it whitens teeth as well or better than the average tube, and it leaves ones mouth feeling rather fresh. Sounds good, right? I (J.) think so. In fact, the only real down side is, for me, the taste. It doesn’t taste that bad; just a little salty. Salty, really?!? Yes, salty. I know, it sounds strange, but our toothpaste has actual salt in it.

Ingredients:

6 Teaspoons, Baking Soda
4 Teaspoons, Vegetable Glycerin
1/3 teaspoon, Salt
15 drops, Peppermint Extract

Directions:

Mix all together. Store in an airtight container.

Why? Well, all of these ingredients can be base elements of something else, so it makes sense for us to have these things on hand for use in other items as well.

Where can I get vegetable glycerin? Many traditional drug stores, apothecary shops, and Whole Foods Markets.

We plan to make another batch and/or add additional peppermint extract to our existing batch to kind of play with the taste. Its not a bad enough taste to keep us from using it (it really does work well) but it certainly would make it more pleasant.

Give this a try if you’re looking for an alternative to store-bought toothpaste, and let us know what you think.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Shari permalink
    July 5, 2009 8:35 am

    A tip that I read somewhere (can’t remember where now) is to add just a small bit of stevia. I had been having the same problem with the toothpaste being salty tasting. Adding just the small bit of stevia powder really made a difference. It doesn’t make it overly sweet, just cuts down the saltiness.

  2. July 5, 2009 8:41 am

    Very interesting. Perhaps you could try cinnamon extract instead or in addition to peppermint. I got some cinnamint toothpaste once that was fantastict. I didn’t think I’d like the cinnamon taste for toothpaste but it was quite nice. You could also add a little honey to sweeten it up and balance out the salt, since it’s a natural antibacterial it should be a good addition.

  3. Gayatri permalink
    July 6, 2009 7:20 am

    Wow!!
    I am a do it yourself person, never knew paste could be made at home!!
    Thanks for the info & your good work

  4. July 8, 2009 2:53 am

    Cool! My hubby sports a beard, so I can’t try the homemade shaving cream, but I think I’ll try this. If the economical evalution comes through positive I may stick with it (sad, but true – I need to squeeze every penny right now so I’ll compare the cost of the the homemade paste to environmental friendly toothpaste – if there ever is one in Sweden).

  5. July 18, 2009 5:32 pm

    I make my own tooth powder – very simple from baking soda and sometimes some sea salt but if you are a hard brusher, mix equal parts baking soda and arrowroot powder and add a few drops of food grade peppermint oil. In our house, each person gets their own container and can either dip the brush into the powder, or wet the brush, then sprinkle on top. DIY toothpaste is so frugal – I buy a huge box on baking soda for less than $5 and use it for all cleaning, laundry pre-rinse, toothpaste, shampoo, everything, and it lasts in our house a good 6 months or so. What other product is so universal and costs less than $1 per month.

  6. July 24, 2009 7:50 am

    I tried “tooth paste” with various ingredients including mint. But i never tasted the mint & it just didn’t go that well.

    I’ve ended up using “tooth powder.” Xylitol is suppose to be good for teeth & gums, & it is sweet. (It is sometimes used as a sugar substitute.) So, similar to your recipe i would mix 6 tsp baking soda & 8 tsp xylitol. I used to do a 50/50 mix, but the baking soda was a bit strong. In truth, i have a small jar & put near equal amounts in, but a bit more xylitol & enough room left to shake it well. Then just wet my tooth brush & dip it in. (I’m the only one in our house using this. If you are sharing, each person might want their own small jar.)

  7. July 31, 2009 6:23 pm

    I would approach this recipe with caution, because of an experience I had a few years ago with homemade tooth cleaning concoctions.

    After doing some (not very thorough) research, I started brushing my teeth with baking soda plus salt, no other additives. It felt great, wasn’t too hard to get used to. BUT after a few months my gums started to recede, and I’d never had any trouble with them before this.

    Now, about 5 years down the track, I am unable to use any toothpaste at all except the expensive Sensodyne brand, or I’m in constant pain and find it extremely unconfortable to eat or drink. Another solution would be to spend lots of money at the dentist, but I’ll take the toothpaste option at the moment.

    Your recipe is certainly a lot milder than the mixture I used, but I still think that people should be careful with abrasive mixtures (baking soda is rather abrasive) that contact the teeth and gums.

    • Melanie permalink
      August 19, 2009 8:06 pm

      I tried this recipe as well (got this recipe from another website) and my teeth started to get real sensitive so I stopped. I’m going to try baking soda with arrowroot to see if that helps.

    • September 23, 2009 9:38 am

      You should both try extra soft toothbrushes. I have a problem no matter what paste I use with sensitive gums. I can use a regular or even hard toothbrush for a while but eventually my gums get sensitive and I have to switch back. Actually I no longer switch back and forth since the baking soda/ salt mix keeps my teeth feeling quite clean without the need to scrub them to death with a harder tooth brush. (I do also go to the dentist twice a year for an “official” cleaning) The brand of brush I use is Preserve brand—Ultra Soft. I like it a lot and they allow you to mail them back for recycling. I wait until I build up a few so as to save on the post cost.

  8. chesherca permalink
    August 3, 2009 8:41 pm

    Found your blog today, and am enjoying it so far. I’ve been on a dechemicalazation (well it SHOULD be a word) kick for quite some time now. I tried plain ol’ baking soda, but couldn’t hack it *literally* I’ll have to give this one a try. . .

  9. August 6, 2009 8:26 pm

    I too use Xylitol in my tooth powder, I don’t have exact measurements, plus it’s a work in progress, I start out with baking powder as the base, then to that I add Xylitol, cinnamon (just a bit), tea tree oil, sea salt, I buzz all of this in my trusty coffee grinder. I put this mixture in a recycled tooth powder bottle, it works great, I just shake it up and squeeze it out on to my wet toothbrush.

    I am considering adding a Tums (the calcium based one) buzzed into a powder to add calcium to the mix, it should add a mineral to help harden my teeth.

    One thing about glycerin, I had read that if you use any tooth product that contains glycerin (and most commercial tooth cleaning products do contain it), it will coat your teeth and prevent your teeth from re-mineralizing. After I read that, I stopped using anything that contained glycerin.

    Wretha

  10. August 11, 2009 5:23 am

    Hey there!

    I used that recipe during my no-buying-brand-new year…and while it worked great, I have to admit, I never got used to the taste. I’m afraid I’ve now reverted back to buying toothpaste albeit the herbal and mineral toothpaste from Woolworths.

    By the way, you have ‘won’ the book I was giving away in my blog! Now I know that we see each other at SGF, I have to admit, I can not work out which one is your email!

    Can you email me at consumption dot rebellion at gmail dot com please with your details so I can send the book to you?

    Cheers,
    Eilleen

  11. Josefine permalink
    August 18, 2009 8:43 am

    I tried this today and my mouth feels extraordinarily clean more than two hours after usage. I am extremely picky when it comes to dental products because of a (slightly unhealthy, haha) obsession with my teeth. However, when it comes to dental caries I am a bit worried about this particular recipe. Does it give sufficient protection against dental caries, seeing as it lacks the component fluorine? Has anyone researched this?

    I am planning to ask my dentist about this the next time I see her, but it would be nice if anyone else has got experience or knowledge regarding this.

    And also, I have lurked this blog for months. The mere mention of teeth brought me out from lurkingness. :p It is a very nice blog and I love your various experiments.

  12. rachel permalink
    August 19, 2009 1:05 am

    I bought “toothbrushing soap” off Etsy.com. It comes in bar soap form and it works. There are several sellers who make it.

    • Etsy Buyer permalink
      September 16, 2009 7:34 pm

      Actually, rachel there’s only a couple sellers on Etsy.com who offer the toothbrushing soap that you’re talking about and one of them is the original creator who makes it from specific ingredients that don’t include SLS, glycerine, flouride or palm oil. She doesn’t publish her ingredients list on the internet because of the copycats who can’t get it right by themselves. We probably bought from the same seller.

Trackbacks

  1. Baking Soda – Uses and Benefits « Linux and Friends

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

