Skip to content

Easy Inexpensive Home Decorating

May 15, 2009


IMG_3839, originally uploaded by Shear Delight.

How cool are these curtains? And what’s even cooler is that I made them myself in about an hour and a half!

I saw this fabric and knew that I had to have it for my home office. I love the natural light in that room but in the summer it can get ridiculously hot without some sort of filter.

I took 2 yards of the print and 2 yards of a solid white fabric to make the curtains. I loosely followed these instructions but folded the top edge over 2 inches to make a tube for my curtain rod. I like that look better than the tabs used in the linked instructions. I also only made one curtain. I was looking for a stream lined look and I think this accomplishes that quite nicely.

The total cost was $35 in fabric and thread and I still have fabric and thread leftover to use on another project. If you are looking for green projects you could use organic fabric to make custom curtains although I just used 100% quilting weight cotton.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2009 8:49 pm

    They look great! I like light curtains as well.

  2. May 21, 2009 3:27 am

    Love the curtain. Excellent job on making your own curtain. It has been awhile since I visited and have enjoyed catching up. You are very special to be a foster mom to the kittens.

  3. June 9, 2009 2:56 pm

    You have done a wonderful work. I love the colors on the curtain. This is not only inexpensive home decorating but also green remodeling as you can use organic fiber.

  4. Daisypicker5 permalink
    June 15, 2009 1:17 pm

    Wow!! Pretty curtains!! I painted my walls last month and found that this video helped me out a lot since it was the first time I had ever painted my walls. http://www.howcast.com/videos/716-How-To-Paint-a-Wall

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

