Skip to content

Nan, Nan, Na-na-na-na-na-Nan

April 14, 2008

Nan is really good Indian flat bread, and something that N. and I could probably live on (bread-wise). N. came across this really easy recipe, and its now our one and only Nan recipe.

I’ve seen the word spelled two ways, Nan and Naan. Doesn’t matter, a nan by any other name…]]

If you literally follow this recipe to the letter, you’ll end up with some very good bread.

3 1/2 cups flour (Maida)
1/2 cup yogurt
1 egg
1/4 cup butter
2 tsp. salt
3 tsp. sugar
3/4 cup water
1 2/3 Tbls. yeast (dried)

1. In a dish, take 5 Tbls. of water, add the yeast and a teaspoon of sugar and stir well. Keep aside for 10-12 minutes. (You will see bubbles on the surface of the mixture which suggests that the yeast is all right). Now, add in the remaining water, sugar, yogurt, egg, butter, and salt. Stir well.

2. Add the flour to this liquid and make into a smooth, soft, and elastic dough. (It will take about 10-15 minutes). Take a warm bowl, butter all the sides and the bottom of the bowl then place the dough in the bowl, cover with a cloth and keep in a warm place until the dough doubles in height (about 40 minutes). Push a finger into the dough. If the impression remains, then it is ready to be baked. Make the dough into 8 equal balls, flatten them into circles with your fingers such that the edges are thicker than the center. Pull one end of the circle so that the dough circle now looks like a tear drop or a balloon in two dimensions. The length is about a handspan and width about a palm.

3. Heat oven to 450F, and on a non-greased baking tray, place the dough. Bake for 10 minutes or until golden brown.

We used some leftover hungarian yogurt, and it worked out just fine (in case you happen to be wondering whether or not hungarian yogurt will work).
We did not Use Maida flour. We used regular Organic Unbleached All Purpose flour.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2008 11:40 pm

    kewl! I’m know what I’m going to try on the weekend :)

  2. SueB permalink
    April 14, 2008 11:50 pm

    Thank you for this recipe! I have been meaning to get back to learning to bake regular bread, but have been dragging my feet about it. This, on the other hand, just screams “Try Me Now!” and makes me hungry for good Indian food just looking at the photo and the recipe. I can’t wait til the next free day I have so I can try it. Thanks so much!

    Sue
    Western Great Basin
    http://dogslittleacre.wordpress.com

  3. April 15, 2008 7:05 pm

    And I was *just* going to ask you whether or not “Maida” flour needed to be used or whether the flour I have in my cupboard would suffice…thanks for reading my mind! :-)
    Yum…I’m going to bake this tomorrow (just as soon as I get some yogurt)! :-)

  4. April 15, 2008 7:07 pm

    But wait…in the photo above it looks like there are…poppy seeds in the bread? What are those little black dots?

  5. April 16, 2008 1:58 pm

    I don’t know if you guys like paratha, but it’s another great Indian bread. It’s a little bit time consuming, but not hard. We eat it with yogurt as a meal. You have to eat it while it’s hot! I’m putting my recipe (passed from a friend, written from memory :) if you want to try it:

    Take about 3 cups flour (I use Durum Atta flour – I buy it at our local Indian grocery – haven’t tried any other kinds); add water really slowly and mix w/ hand until it sticks together. Let it sit for a minute; wet hand and knead. Put about 1 teaspoon oil on and knead a bit more.

    Chop real small ½ onion, 2 green chilies and about 2 tablespoons cilantro.

    Mash 3 or 4 cooked potatoes, add pinches of salt and red chili powder. Mix in the other veggies. It should be pretty salty tasting.

    Make dough into balls; flatten; stuff w/ potato mixture; close tightly; roll flat and cook.

  6. badhuman permalink*
    April 17, 2008 5:37 pm

    I’m not sure what the black dots are. Our nan was eaten before it could be photographed so we googled an image.

  7. April 17, 2008 7:32 pm

    Oh, I’ll have to make this for my husband! It looks wonderful!

  8. May 27, 2008 10:25 am

    Mmm…I bookmarked this to try as soon as I get to the store for some plain yogurt. Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. Naan Ventured, Naan Gained… « Dog’s Little Acre

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

